Pizza’s arriving from Canada?

My buddy had this not-so-great experience to share:

My complaint is against Canadian Pizza. I called them on the weekend and made my usual order, nothing grandiose, just two large pizzas and was promised an appearance within 45 minutes which is the customary line. An hour and a rumbling stomach later, and I still hadn’t seen light of a crust. So I called them back and asked, very politely, mind you, on the status of my pizzas. To which the guy who had picked up my call asked me to verify which pizzas I had ordered only to tell me the service had crashed and my order showed a 0-0. I don’t know what a ‘zero zero’ means but I figure it roughly translates to me having had to wait for an hour with no pizza in the oven, much less one on its way. He then promised to call me right back, but fifteen minutes later, and still no call back, led to me having to call them back. But it’s okay, it’s not as though I was giving them business or anything.

A third person picked up this time and I went through the whole charade again but this time I think they had gotten the message to which he replied, “Let me put you with the person who took your order ma’am”.

Much shuffling of phones and shouts in the background led to the following conversation (not verbatim of course but roughly what happened – imagine more frustration)

Canadian Pizza: Yes ma’am.
Me: Yes, can someone please explain to me what is going on with my pizzas?
CP: Yes ma’am, we apologise but the server was down and your order shows 0-0.

(again with the zero zero!)

Me: Yes so what’s the status with that now?
CP: Do you wish to make any further orders?
Me: … what happened to my original pizzas?
CP: It will be on the way soon.
Me: It’s been two hours, how long do I have to wait for these?
CP: 45 minutes.
Me: Let me get this straight. I have to wait ANOTHER 45 minutes for pizzas I ordered two hours ago and pay full price for them?
CP: No of course not ma’am. We will give you a ten percent discount for them.

(Ten percent of RM36.90 is a mere RM 3.69 btw).

Me: So I have to pay ten percent less and wait another 45 minutes for pizzas that should come immediately and that I should not have to pay for?
CP: Yes.

Words cannot describe how I felt. I vaguely remember shouting that this is the SECOND time this has happened (that is true, it happened to my brother not long ago) and to cancel CANCEL! the pizzas because if it comes I will not pay for them.

After which I hung up, called McDonalds’ and received my order within fifteen minutes.

I appreciate the fact that she was at least polite, but really, if a customer had to wait longer than 45 minutes for their order, the least they should expect is a better discount than ten percent and pizzas that should ideally be sent as top priority to soothe their fevered brows and rumbling tummies. Something for CP to think about.

Am I overreacting here?

lousyserviceslayer: No!

3 thoughts on “Pizza’s arriving from Canada?

  1. That’s seriously bad service. No wonder Domino’s is still dominating the deliveries of pizza around the world.

    A rather bad service experience at Austin Chase (wanted to try the coffee at this new place):

    Ordered a dopio espresso macchiato where by the order was noted down with a passionate voice (standard musical gesture in all coffee cafes these days).

    Order was cashed in and the total was calculated. To my suprise, the espresso was RM12. Normally, a double shot espresso costs only RM6.

    I asked the cashier, why is it RM12? Cashier said you ordered caramel macchiato, right? I said no, i didn’t. I wanted an espresso macchiato. (The drink was already prepared).

    But Sir, it’s no difference. It’s still a macchiato. Blur look for a moment. Then I clearly specified, I requested for an espresso double shot with a macchioto on top (milky foam), not “THE” caramel macchiato drink itself.

    Politely I asked for a change. Cashier said, I can’t modify the order since it’s locked in. You can collect the drink and pay the amount. I said why don’t you cancel this order and create a new one by making the right drink instead.

    Cashier insisted that it can’t be done and presisted me to pay up since the drink has been made. I told them thanks for the service and time but you can keep the drink because that’s not the drink I initially wanted to have.

    I’m like WTF!!! Never knew it was this hard to make the right coffee requested. Walked to Starbucks instead and got what I wanted.

    • Most coffee houses in Malaysia are generally accomodating when they screw something up. That’s what I love about them (apart from the coffee of course). Looks like Austin Chase needs to run with it’s money.

  2. Holy macaroni, Barath’s Austin Chase experience deserves a page of its own!
    Imagine if you had shoved her just a dollar and claimed the drink. When she says “No, it’s 12 dollars”, you could’ve retorted “But Miss, it’s no different. It’s still money.”

    P/S: Kudos to the lousyserviceslayer and good luck on your mission

Leave a comment